Events‎ > ‎Past Events‎ > ‎

Christianity for Today: An Introduction/Refresher - Check for dates!

posted 4 Jan 2017, 14:43 by Gary van der Meer   [ updated 10 Apr 2017, 10:33 ]
Christianity 101, adapted for our ever-changing needs! Over the past few months, we have had requests for baptism and confirmation. We have also had newcomers asking about our approach to Christian faith at St. Anne's. This is for your questions, but also to encourage your curiosity to keep learning.

Christianity for Today includes 5 sessions (each offered three times to accommodate our busy schedules!), and a potluck meal as a concluding session. It starts in January and will conclude before Holy Week. Themes for the 5 Sessions:

Arriving: Once you realize you have arrived at a "stopping place" - like our church community - what are the first things you need to know? We'll cover the basics of bible and worship, and the importance of building community, as well as the big questions about God and Jesus.

Belonging: In our era, there is so much isolation. People move a lot. They sit with electronic devices to feel connected. Do we belong to the people who care about us? What about the people who have gone before us, and the wisdom they pass on from asking the same questions we ask? What does it mean to belong?

Behaving: What are the behaviours or practices of living the Christian journey? What about prayer? How important is it to attend worship? How does our faith inform our attitudes about politics and economics and the news of our world? What about fasting, giving money to poor people, talking about my beliefs?

Believing: Do I have to believe everything in the Bible? Do I have to agree with every pronouncement made by my church? Do I have to believe Jesus rose from the dead? We once thought you could tick the boxes despite your doubts and that meant you belong. The reality is that our beliefs are a moving target - evolving and changing with age, life experience, and our readiness to ask questions. Let's ask!

Awakening: Once we have covered the basics, what's next? How will we live? What does God ask of us, about our priorities with time we have. How will our world be different because we were here? Do we have a calling, a vocation, a contribution to make to life on earth?
Schedule:

Session 1: Arriving
  • Wednesday, January 18, 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, January 21, 3:00 p.m..
  • Sunday, January 15, 9:00 a.m. (Part 1) and Sunday, January 22, 9:00 a.m. (Part 2)
Session 2: Belonging
  • Wednesday, February 1, 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, February 4, 3:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, January 29, 9:00 a.m. (Part 1) and Sunday, February 5, 9:00 a.m. (Part 2)
Session 3: Behaving
  • Wednesday, February 15, 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 4, 3:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, February 19, 9:00 a.m. (Part 1) and Sunday, February 26, 9:00 a.m. (Part 2)
Session 4: Believing 
  • Wednesday, March 8, 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 11, 3:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 5, 9:00 a.m. (Part 1) and Sunday March 12, 9:00 a.m. (Part 2)
Session 5: Awakening
  • Wednesday, March 22, 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 25, 3:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 19, 9:00 a.m. (Part 1) and Sunday, March 26, 9:00 a.m. (Part 2)
Concluding Session
  • Saturday, April 1, 4:00 p.m. One Hour followed by Potluck Supper. This is for everyone!
NOTE LOCATIONS:
Wednesday Sessions: Skey Room, St. Anne's Parish Hall
Saturday Sessions: St. Anne's Ministry Centre, 276 Gladstone
Sunday Sessions: St. Anne's Ministry Centre, 276 Gladstone 

Please register by contacting the Rev. Gary van der Meer, pastor@saintanne.ca